[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index ][Thread Index ]

Mizzima: Dr. Sein Win re-elected as

Dr. Sein Win re-elected as PM of Burmese exiled government

Dublin, Ireland, October 8, 2000
Mizzima News Group

Dr. Sein Win, a former professor and cousin of Burmese opposition leader
Aung San Suu Kyi, was re-elected as Prime Minister of the National
Coalition Government of the Union of Burma (NCGUB) for the next
five-year term. At the meeting held in Dublin, Ireland from October 2 to
7, the exiled Members of Parliament from Burma reformed the Burmese
government in exile with a reshuffle of Cabinet ministers and some
changes in governmental set-up. Observers say that there are no dramatic
major changes in the exiled government, which enjoys little support
among the Burmese democratic forces in exile.

The new set-up of exiled government has nine Cabinet ministers,
including the Prime Minister. Speaking to Mizzima News Group after the
meeting, U Maung Maung Aye, minister for News and Information Committee
said that there are six governmental affairs committee, such as Human
Rights Affairs Committee, Democracy Development Affairs Committee,
Education and Health Affairs Committee, Federal Affairs Committee, and
News and Information Affairs Committee. While a Minister heads each
sub-committee, other Members of Parliament get involved in it. There are
two Cabinet Ministers for the Prime Minister Office (PMO), which is
currently based in Washington D.C.

The meeting was participated by 21 Members of Parliament who left Burma
after the military regime refused to keep its promise of handing over
power to the elected Members of Parliament in the 1990 general
elections. The government in exile was formed with a group of elected
parliamentarians at Manerplaw, the former stronghold of Karen guerillas
ten years ago.