[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index ][Thread Index ]

Enemies of Press

The Hindu (May 2, 1998)
Enemies of the press
New York: The leaders of Nigeria, Myanmar, Belarus, Cuba and Indonesia
were among 10 "enemies of the press" named by the Committee to Protect
Journalists (CPJ). The New York based non-profit organization that seeks
to safeguard press freedom said the leaders from around the world were
elected "for their relentless campaigns of suppression of journalists."
Issued to mark World Press Freedom Day on May 3, the list names: Nigeria's
military ruler, Gen. Sani Abacha, Myanmar's Gen. Than Shwe, the Belarus
President, Mr. Fidel Castro, Indonesia's President Suharto, the
Turkmenistan President, Mr. Saparmurat Niyazov, the Ethiopian Prime
Minister, Mr. Meles Zenawi, Tunsia's President, Mr. Zine Abdine Ben Ali,
the Chinese President, Mr. Jiang Zemin, and Jordan Prime Minister, Mr. Abd
al-Salam al-Majali. (Reuters)