[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index ][Thread Index ]

The Order of Australia.

			The Order of Australia

	The Order of Australia is the highest award in Australia. 
	Daw Aung San Suu Kyi has been awarded the Order of Australia 
	(Companion) in 1996.

	The achievements of a number of expectional Australians are 
	recognised on Australia Day (January 26) and the Queen's birthday 
	each year by awards within the Order of Australia.

	First awarded in 1975 to replace the Imperial Honours system, the 
	Order of Australia has become one of the world's finest tributes to 
	worthy citizens.

	Today, over 10,000 Australian proudly posess the insignia of the Order.

	There are four levels in the Order of the Australia. 

	For eminent achievement and merit of the highest degree in 
	service to Australia or humanity at large, the Companion (AC) is 

	Officer (AO) is given for distinguished service of a high degree 
	to Australia or humanity at large.

	Member (AM) is awarded for service in a particular locality or 
	field of activity or to a particular group, while the Medal (OAM) is 
	awarded for servie worthy of particular recognition.

	Nominations for the Order of Australia come from the general 
	public and are processes by the Australian Honours Secretariat - part 
	of the Governor-General's office.

	The secretariat researches the nominations and submits its 
	findings to an independent Council which makes recommendations to the 
	Governor General.